Valvasor's working room
Our famous polymath wrote in his work The Glory of the Duchy of Carniola that he had four stone pillars put in one of the castle's rooms, where they still gloriously stand today. This room was actually the working office of Johann Weikhard von Valvasor, where he wrote most of his works. The room is decorated in the style of his period. Besides the table and the chair from a later period, visitors can also take a look at his works. The central exhibit is the original book of The Glory of the Duchy of Carniola from 1689 with its reprints and translation to Slovene. It is considered a monumental work that was mostly written at Bogenšperk castle and altogether contains 3.532 pages with descriptions of Carniola and briefly also its neighbor regions towards the end of the 17th century. It was written in German and printed in Nuremberg. The Glory of the Duchy of Carniola is a treasury of information about our region and the life of our ancestors.
In addition to his main work, the display cases also show Valvasor's full original topography work of old and new Duchy of Carinthia from 1688 and his Graphic Arts collection, Iconotheca Valvasoriana, in 18 volumes of large format.